Skip to Content

Ranked among the top ten programs nation-wide, the Geography Department at the University of Oregon has 16 full-time faculty members whose expertise tackles issues of environmental change, globalization, and geospatial technologies through teaching innovation and research.

Happy New Year!
Click here to read the 2015 End of the Year Newsletter.  Best Wishes for 2016!

Winter 2016 Tea Talk Series

The Geography Department continues its long tradition of public lectures on Thursdays with the following events:

All Talks in 106 Condon Hall, 1321 Kincaid Street, at 4:00 pm, snacks available before at 3:30pm unless otherwise noted.

UO President Schill discussing subsidized housing

Thursday, January 7th Dr. Michael Schill, President, University of Oregon Housing programs and property values

Thursday, January 14th Dr. Dan Gavin, Department of Geography, University of Oregon El-Nino related forest fire, tropical ecology, and conservation in southwestern Borneo (Indonesia)

Thursday, January


Lifetime acheivements recognized

The work of Professor Patrick Bartlein was recognized with a 2016 Distinguished Career Award from the American Quaternary Association (AMQUA), for research that makes important contributions to the understanding of climate, fire history, and vegetation change.

The citation for the award reads:

“Dr. Bartlein’s contributions to the advancement of Quaternary Studies include integrating multi-proxy networks of paleoenvironmental data that are used to build and validate environmental models from local to global temporal and spatial scales, as well as innovations in data-visualization