Skip to Content

Department News

« Previous Page  Page 5 of 5  
May 1, 2013

Recent Awards to UO Geographers

PrintCongratulations to Dr. Susan Hardwick (left), Dr. Xiaobo Su (middle) and PhD Candidate Easther Chigumira for their recent successes. Dr. Hardwick was the recipient of the 2013 George J. Miller Award for Distinguished Service in Geographic Education awarded by the NCGE. Dr. Su won the 2013 Asia Studies Fellowship at the East-West Center in Washington, D.C., a three-month fellowship where he will research the regional integration of China’s anti-drug policies in northern Laos and Myanmar. Meanwhile, Easther received the 2013-2014 Margaret McNamara Memorial Fellowship awarded to women from developing countries to help improve education and livelihoods of women and children in developing countries. In addition, Easther won the 2013-2014 American Association of University Women International Fellowship.

April 28, 2013

Geographers run the distance

EugMarathonOn April 28, 60% of the female UO Geography faculty ran the Eugene Half-Marathon. Go Ducks! Image above (from left to right): Katie Meehan, Puddles, Amy Lobben, Jessie Clark

February 8, 2013

Atlas of Yellowstone wins PROSE Award

Atlas_of_YellowstoneThe new Atlas of Yellowstone, by the Geography Department’s Andrew Marcus, Jim Meacham, and Alethea Steingisser (with Ann Rodman), has received the PROSE award for Excellence in Physical Sciences and Mathematics from the American Publishers Association – one of the top five awards of the association.

January 24, 2013

Meehan takes geography students to “The Wire”

1 thewireHow many college classes require that students “be willing to watch four to six hours of television each week”? Welcome to Geography 442/542, where Katie Meehan uses the gritty “Wire” series to examine how capital and culture shape the American city.

See story at

October 1, 2012

Bartlein Receives Award for Excellence

Bart_FundWe always knew Bart is excellent, but now it’s official: congratulations to Bart (photo, far left), who is a 2012 recipient of the Fund for Faculty Excellence Award.The Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards provide one-time awards of $20,000 to tenured or tenure-related faculty who have distinguished themselves in research, teaching, and leadership. Recipients were honored Thursday, November 15th.

June 6, 2012

UO Geography grads sweep APCG awards

APCG_Awardees_2012_smAt this year’s conference of the Association of Pacific Coast Geographers (in Olympia, WA), UO Geography grads took nearly every major award available. Awardees include Innisfree McKinnon, Aquila Flower, Lindsay Naylor, Didi Martinez, Sarah Praskievicz, Emma Slager and Laurie Trautman. It’s official: UO grads rule!

June 1, 2012

Professor Alec Murphy receives Herman Teaching Award

AlecAwardThe Thomas F. Herman Faculty Achievement Award for Distinguished Teaching honors senior faculty members who have achieved outstanding records as teachers. The Herman Award is presented to faculty members who have demonstrated long-standing excellence in teaching, and have contributed significantly to student learning at the undergraduate or graduate level. Way to go, Alec!

« Previous Page  Page 5 of 5