Skip to Content

AAG news roundup

At the business meeting of the Political Geography Specialty Group (PGSG), it was announced that the PGSG’s Dissertation Enhancement Award will heretofore be known as the Alexander Murphy Dissertation Enhancement Award.

Several graduate students won awards at this year’s AAG meeting in Chicago.

Olivia Molden won the AAG Cultural and Political Ecology (CAPE) Group Field Study Award.

Seth Kenbeek won best paper award for the New Directions in Geospatial Simulation  student session.

Belen Norona won the Bernard Nietschmann PhD Support Award from the Central and Latin American Specialty grochristines mapup.


Christine Grummon received an honerable mention award from National Geographic for her map!



The Oregon party was a smash success this year, if only in part because the new UO President, Michael Schill dropped by to take photos with Jim Meacham and Andrew Marcus.

uo pres 2 uo pres